Honey Web

about all things sweet and web-ish

SSB creator

with 2 comments

I’ve wrote a utility script that creates a copy of the current running activity and bundles it in an .xo (thank you Bobby Powers).

I’ve made a small modification to webtoolbar.py in Browse: the ‘create ssb’ button calls the create utility with the current web page title. In the process, I’ve had to also make a change in webactivity.py because the toolbar constructor did not get the activity object passed to the constructor, but the Browser object and I couldn’t find a way to get the title otherwise.

I’ve had a chat with bemasc, and he suggested I keep the ‘create ssb’ functionality in created SSBs. Since activities are immutable, they could instead be ‘curried’, like functions in functional languages. This would require including activity data (get_activity_root()/data) in the bundle and copy-ing it from the bundle on the first run. I’m a bit worried about confusing users with this, though.

I’ve been working on the Customisation toolbar that will be present in SSBs. For this to work nicely, I have to either allow webactivity.py check wether it rus as Browse or an SSB or subclass WebActivity in ssbactivity.py. I’m not yet sure which is the best way to do this.

I’d like some feedback on all this.

[update] Here‘s a created SSB. It includes the modifications I’ve done to Browse.

Written by Lucian

June 11, 2009 at 5:35 am

Posted in sugar

Tagged with , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can you post a link to the modified Browse code so we can test it? (It is in a fork of Browse in gitorious?)

    walter bender

    June 11, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    • I’ve never used git before and I didn’t manage to push my changes yet. I’ll try some more later today.

      Lucian

      June 11, 2009 at 4:34 pm


Leave a Reply

